Search By Topic


Future Earth Advisory Committee members announced

See a list of members

Future Earth announced the full membership of its Advisory Committee launched in January 2018. The Advisory Committee guides Future Earth as it enters the next phase in its evolution as an international platform for research and innovation. Several figures from Asia/Japan were selected for the members, including: Tetsuzo Yasunari, the Director-General to Research Institute for Humanity and Nature, Japan; Naoko Ishii, CEO and Chairperson of Global Environment Facility and the former Deputy Vice Minister of Finance of Japan; Oyun Sanjaasuren, Chair of the Global Water Partnership and a former member of Parliament of Mongolia; and Peng Gong, Professor at Tsinghua University, China.

The committee provides advice to ensure that Future Earth’s research is of the highest quality. It also aids the organisation in forming the links between science and society that are critical for transforming research into action. Among other tasks, the Advisory Committee provides guidance on:

  • Identifying emerging trends in sustainability and areas where new research is a priority;
  • Continuing to develop Future Earth’s existing research and innovation projects and launching new ones;
  • Ensuring that Future Earth’s activities are responsive to the evolving needs of society and making research results accessible to innovators in policy, business, civil society and more.

The Advisory Committee will succeed the Future Earth Science and Engagement Committees, which played an important role in guiding the organisation through its initial start-up phase between 2014 and 2017. In December 2017, Future Earth announced that Leena Srivastava and Johan Rockström would co-chair the newly-formed Advisory Committee.

This release is based on the Future Earth main website.


March 26, 2018


Future Earth Staff Member